util: Factor out boolean term quoting routine
authorAustin Clements <amdragon@MIT.EDU>
Sun, 6 Jan 2013 20:22:38 +0000 (15:22 -0500)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Mon, 7 Jan 2013 02:39:36 +0000 (22:39 -0400)
commit25cf5f5dc45cac42f15643f6df09b46d51d7b5ec
tree20f76784471c8203620b9c74973632ff76d6be62
parentbaca1219af0ef1f81985759e868a68e9dd78e0d1
util: Factor out boolean term quoting routine

This is now a generic boolean term quoting function.  It performs
minimal quoting to produce user-friendly queries.

This could live in tag-util as well, but it is really nothing specific
to tags (although the conventions are specific to Xapian).

The API is changed from "caller-allocates" to "readline-like".  The
scan for max tag length is pushed down into the quoting routine.
Furthermore, this now combines the term prefix with the quoted term;
arguably this is just as easy to do in the caller, but this will
nicely parallel the boolean term parsing function to be introduced
shortly.

This is an amalgamation of code written by David Bremner and myself.
notmuch-tag.c
util/string-util.c
util/string-util.h