emacs: Only set one variable per setq form
authorJonas Bernoulli <jonas@bernoul.li>
Sat, 8 Aug 2020 11:49:40 +0000 (13:49 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sun, 9 Aug 2020 23:50:50 +0000 (20:50 -0300)
commit18d289c86309ae796e6f027c289b17ccdd38f220
tree7e65002334f277b907f838c30ddcd0f5a3b2742b
parent2ee8e971c546f0ffed726099b844cbd5f05de029
emacs: Only set one variable per setq form

It's a bit weird to avoid having to write the "(setq ... )" more than
once, just because we can.  In a language that uses '=' for the same
purpose we also happily use that once per assignment.

While there are no benefit to using just one 'setq' there are some
drawbacks.  It is not always clear on first what is a key and what a
value and as a result it is easy to make a mistake.  Also it becomes
harder to comment out just one assignment.
emacs/notmuch-address.el
emacs/notmuch-crypto.el
emacs/notmuch-lib.el
emacs/notmuch-show.el
emacs/notmuch-tree.el
emacs/notmuch.el