Makefile.global: drop -std=gnu99. C11 (or later) compiler required
authorTomi Ollila <tomi.ollila@iki.fi>
Wed, 24 Jun 2020 20:11:20 +0000 (23:11 +0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 27 Jun 2020 00:48:56 +0000 (21:48 -0300)
commit751f6109225ccbe9a9008a2ff9381e4abfb4f71d
treeea9bcfe8197c3a761f538df1ab316355e6649749
parent81057164cddf6a5c1d4c30a23767c4de8e615c1c
Makefile.global: drop -std=gnu99. C11 (or later) compiler required

Since October 2018 building notmuch has actually required compiler
that knows C11.

Also this -std=gnu99 was not used in code compiled by configure,
so in theory this could have caused problems...

...but no related reports have been sent, perhaps ever.

Both gcc and clang has been shipping compilers supporting C11
(or later) by default for more than four years now.

Therefore, just dropping -std=gnu99 (and not checking C11
compatibility for now, for simplicity) is easiest to do,
and removes inconsistency between configure and build time
compilations.
Makefile.global