Makefile.global: drop -std=gnu99. C11 (or later) compiler required
authorTomi Ollila <tomi.ollila@iki.fi>
Wed, 24 Jun 2020 20:11:20 +0000 (23:11 +0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 27 Jun 2020 00:48:56 +0000 (21:48 -0300)
Since October 2018 building notmuch has actually required compiler
that knows C11.

Also this -std=gnu99 was not used in code compiled by configure,
so in theory this could have caused problems...

...but no related reports have been sent, perhaps ever.

Both gcc and clang has been shipping compilers supporting C11
(or later) by default for more than four years now.

Therefore, just dropping -std=gnu99 (and not checking C11
compatibility for now, for simplicity) is easiest to do,
and removes inconsistency between configure and build time
compilations.

Makefile.global

index 0aee5876532bf84a5d4495a1046e884d1686602e..98b6962e318e1a3ce2dd3629793947c4440145d2 100644 (file)
@@ -49,8 +49,7 @@ DETACHED_SIG_FILE=$(TAR_FILE).asc
 PV_FILE=bindings/python/notmuch/version.py
 
 # Smash together user's values with our extra values
-STD_CFLAGS := -std=gnu99
-FINAL_CFLAGS = -DNOTMUCH_VERSION=$(VERSION) $(CPPFLAGS) $(STD_CFLAGS) $(CFLAGS) $(WARN_CFLAGS) $(extra_cflags) $(CONFIGURE_CFLAGS)
+FINAL_CFLAGS = -DNOTMUCH_VERSION=$(VERSION) $(CPPFLAGS) $(CFLAGS) $(WARN_CFLAGS) $(extra_cflags) $(CONFIGURE_CFLAGS)
 FINAL_CXXFLAGS = $(CPPFLAGS) $(CXXFLAGS) $(WARN_CXXFLAGS) $(extra_cflags) $(extra_cxxflags) $(CONFIGURE_CXXFLAGS)
 FINAL_NOTMUCH_LDFLAGS = $(LDFLAGS) -Lutil -lnotmuch_util -Llib -lnotmuch
 ifeq ($(LIBDIR_IN_LDCONFIG),0)