emacs: Use pop-to-buffer-same-window rather than switch-to-buffer
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Tue, 11 Aug 2020 16:59:13 +0000 (09:59 -0700)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 22 Aug 2020 12:11:06 +0000 (09:11 -0300)
commit88ae4f02511c4dd61ea90b28794f469819d543be
tree28d48aa7eca3525ca103619e8fd19bd90e42c554
parentd7732b2b6aa0a62262061b3b330221d2fdf772e0
emacs: Use pop-to-buffer-same-window rather than switch-to-buffer

This means that notmuch commands obey display-buffer-alist so the user
can customize how buffers show up.

It also permits the use of C-x 4 4, C-x 5 5 and C-x t t, available in
Emacs 28.  For example, one can use C-x 4 4 M-x notmuch-jump-search RET
to open a saved search in another window rather than the current window.
Or in notmuch-search mode, C-x 5 5 RET to view the message at point in
a new frame.

notmuch-tree has custom buffer display logic, so bind
display-buffer-overriding-action to make pop-to-buffer-same-window
behave exactly as switch-to-buffer while that function is running.
emacs/notmuch-draft.el
emacs/notmuch-hello.el
emacs/notmuch-show.el
emacs/notmuch-tree.el
emacs/notmuch.el