test: remove --root option and fix TMP_DIRECTORY cleanup
authorJani Nikula <jani@nikula.org>
Sat, 21 Oct 2017 11:58:02 +0000 (14:58 +0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 21 Oct 2017 14:32:20 +0000 (11:32 -0300)
commitd455c8b74a2a63454779445e14ac3e81141b204a
treee9f3cb8cd040f18a2b837412e523f4cb4f5215a0
parent409d87736461c551fac2f1956132b867f379db1b
test: remove --root option and fix TMP_DIRECTORY cleanup

The primary motivation here is to fix TMP_DIRECTORY cleanup prior to
running each test when the current working directory is not the test
subdirectory. Tests with failures would leave their TMP_DIRECTORY
directory behind for debugging, and repeated out-of-tree test runs
would have old temp directories. (This lead to e.g. T310-emacs.sh
hanging because emacs would prompt for overwriting files.)

We remove the likely anyway defunct --root test option while at it,
just to be on the safe side when doing 'rm -rf' on the TMP_DIRECTORY.
test/README
test/test-lib-common.sh
test/test-lib.sh