notmuch(1): clarify documentation about --option/value separators
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 7 May 2020 19:26:45 +0000 (15:26 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Fri, 8 May 2020 11:58:46 +0000 (08:58 -0300)
id:CA+Tk8fzRiqxWpd=r8=DRvEewNZXUZgD7MKyRLB1A=R-LxxGEZw@mail.gmail.com
started a thread of discussion that showed that the cli's current
idiosyncrasies around dealing with boolean options were not
understandable.

This attempts to improve the documentation at least (actual changes to
the API might be better, but have not reached consensus).

Note that no one in the discussion thread identified any other
(non-boolean) command-line options that cannot use space as a
separator.  If such an option is identified (or introduced in the
future), it should be added explicitly to this part of the manual.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
doc/man1/notmuch.rst

index d2cd8da55cb99e0d20792fdbe326e415bd0109f7..fecfd08a360d0143586352387a5016a1fd25ee2f 100644 (file)
@@ -128,9 +128,9 @@ OPTION SYNTAX
 -------------
 
 All options accepting an argument can be used with '=' or ':' as a
-separator. For the cases where it's not ambiguous (in particular
-excluding boolean options), a space can also be used. The following
-are all equivalent:
+separator. Except for boolean options (which would be ambiguous), a
+space can also be used as a separator. The following are all
+equivalent:
 
 ::