emacs: send notmuch-query stderr to /dev/null
authorJameson Rollins <jrollins@finestructure.net>
Wed, 26 Jan 2011 20:57:50 +0000 (12:57 -0800)
committerCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Thu, 27 Jan 2011 04:44:05 +0000 (14:44 +1000)
The call-process to notmuch in notmuch-query.el was previously sending
stderr into the output buffer.  This means that if there is any stderr
the JSON parsing breaks.  Unfortunately call-process does not support
sending stderr to a separate buffer or to the minibuffer [0], but it
does support sending it to /dev/null.  So we do that here instead.

[0] a bug was filed against emacs (#7842)

emacs/notmuch-query.el

index 26f954474227f15052692ff6ba46479baf4350b7..921f62461760d51a3085cacfeda42f984e13dd48 100644 (file)
@@ -35,7 +35,7 @@ is a possibly empty forest of replies.
         (json-false 'nil))
     (with-temp-buffer
       (progn
         (json-false 'nil))
     (with-temp-buffer
       (progn
-       (apply 'call-process (append (list notmuch-command nil t nil) args))
+       (apply 'call-process (append (list notmuch-command nil (list t nil) nil) args))
        (goto-char (point-min))
        (json-read)))))
 
        (goto-char (point-min))
        (json-read)))))