man: document existing top level options
authorDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Sat, 19 Jan 2013 18:25:55 +0000 (14:25 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Wed, 23 Jan 2013 01:19:35 +0000 (21:19 -0400)
The options --help and --version were not documented before.  One
could quibble about how useful that documentation is, but we will soon
add more options.

man/man1/notmuch.1

index 69805cb51a064ed15b08127b4777c825b67286db..6bf9b2e7c09280e4374f89b068a9b9cd519ce709 100644 (file)
@@ -21,7 +21,7 @@
 notmuch \- thread-based email index, search, and tagging
 .SH SYNOPSIS
 .B notmuch
-.IR command " [" args " ...]"
+.RI "[" option " ...] " command  " [" arg " ...]"
 .SH DESCRIPTION
 Notmuch is a command-line based program for indexing, searching,
 reading, and tagging large collections of email messages.
@@ -50,6 +50,26 @@ interfaces to notmuch. The emacs-based interface to notmuch (available under
 in the Notmuch source distribution) is probably the most widely used at
 this time.
 
+.SH OPTIONS
+
+Supported global options for
+.B notmuch
+include
+
+.RS 4
+.TP 4
+.B \-\-help
+
+Print a synopsis of available commands and exit.
+.RE
+
+.RS 4
+.TP 4
+.B \-\-version
+
+Print the installed version of notmuch, and exit.
+.RE
+
 .SH COMMANDS