mime-node: Clean up unwrapped MIME parts correctly.
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 19 Mar 2020 05:41:45 +0000 (01:41 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Mon, 23 Mar 2020 01:21:03 +0000 (22:21 -0300)
Avoid a memory leak in the notmuch command line.

gmime_multipart_encrypted_decrypt returns a GMimeObject marked by
GMime as "transfer full", so we are supposed to clean up after it.

When parsing a message, notmuch would leak one GMimeObject part per
multipart/encrypted MIME layer.  We clean it up by analogy with
cleaning up the signature list associated with a MIME node.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
mime-node.c

index 2a823dfdcbd75c1f679041099555580d720fdd24..ff6805bf020998e33c45ce5657cf93f79b5a647b 100644 (file)
@@ -192,6 +192,26 @@ set_signature_list_destructor (mime_node_t *node)
     }
 }
 
+/* Unwrapped MIME part destructor */
+static int
+_unwrapped_child_free (GMimeObject **proxy)
+{
+    g_object_unref (*proxy);
+    return 0;
+}
+
+/* Set up unwrapped MIME part destructor */
+static void
+set_unwrapped_child_destructor (mime_node_t *node)
+{
+    GMimeObject **proxy = talloc (node, GMimeObject *);
+
+    if (proxy) {
+       *proxy = node->unwrapped_child;
+       talloc_set_destructor (proxy, _unwrapped_child_free);
+    }
+}
+
 /* Verify a signed mime node */
 static void
 node_verify (mime_node_t *node, GMimeObject *part)
@@ -238,6 +258,8 @@ node_decrypt_and_verify (mime_node_t *node, GMimeObject *part)
                                                         node->ctx->crypto->decrypt,
                                                         message,
                                                         encrypteddata, &decrypt_result, &err);
+       if (node->unwrapped_child)
+           set_unwrapped_child_destructor (node);
     }
     if (! node->unwrapped_child) {
        fprintf (stderr, "Failed to decrypt part: %s\n",