devel/STYLE: information how to enable standard pre-commit hook
authorTomi Ollila <tomi.ollila@iki.fi>
Sat, 23 Mar 2013 12:07:15 +0000 (14:07 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@unb.ca>
Fri, 29 Mar 2013 13:21:44 +0000 (09:21 -0400)
It is easier to enable git standard pre-commit hook, when the
operation to do so is presented.

devel/STYLE

index 0792ba1..92de42c 100644 (file)
@@ -45,8 +45,9 @@ function (param_type param, param_type param)
    - likewise, there is a space following keywords such as if and while
    - every binary operator should have space on either side.
 
-* No trailing whitespace. Please enable the standard pre-commit hook
-  in git (or an equivalent hook).
+* No trailing whitespace. Please enable the standard pre-commit hook in git
+  (or an equivalent hook). The standard pre-commit hook is enabled by simply
+  renaming file '.git/hooks/pre-commit.sample' to '.git/hooks/pre-commit' .
 
 * The name in a function prototype should start at the beginning of a line.