doc: don't build notmuch-emacs.info for configure --without-emacs
authorDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Tue, 11 Jun 2019 00:06:57 +0000 (21:06 -0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Tue, 11 Jun 2019 00:46:55 +0000 (21:46 -0300)
Since the docstrings are not built in the case of --without-emacs,
even if emacs is detected, don't let sphinx build the emacs docs. This
avoids a large number of error messages due to missing includes. It's
actually a bit surprising sphinx doesn't generate an error for the
missing include files.

doc/Makefile.local
doc/conf.py

index 719172fef876d3f16cb6703e73f39801350ddcb9..a88beb464a5923cc7f04a26639b1b3224ba3bd6e 100644 (file)
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@ dir := doc
 
 # You can set these variables from the command line.
 SPHINXOPTS    := -q
-SPHINXBUILD   = HAVE_EMACS=${HAVE_EMACS} sphinx-build
+SPHINXBUILD   = HAVE_EMACS=${HAVE_EMACS} WITH_EMACS=${WITH_EMACS} sphinx-build
 DOCBUILDDIR      := $(dir)/_build
 
 # Internal variables.
index 5f8c9f1c8752d21e7dc28e8e890e5808c84a92ba..8afff929071078e4bbf7eeb8508bce6ae4a85a9a 100644 (file)
@@ -29,9 +29,10 @@ release = version
 # directories to ignore when looking for source files.
 exclude_patterns = ['_build']
 
-# If we don't have emacs, don't build the notmuch-emacs docs, as they need
-# emacs to generate the docstring include files
-if os.environ.get('HAVE_EMACS') != '1':
+# If we don't have emacs (or the user configured --without-emacs),
+# don't build the notmuch-emacs docs, as they need emacs to generate
+# the docstring include files
+if os.environ.get('HAVE_EMACS') != '1' or os.environ.get('WITH_EMACS') != '1':
     exclude_patterns.append('notmuch-emacs.rst')
 
 # The name of the Pygments (syntax highlighting) style to use.