configure: Test for flag to set rpath
authorCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Sat, 30 Oct 2010 19:55:09 +0000 (12:55 -0700)
committerCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Sat, 30 Oct 2010 20:15:00 +0000 (13:15 -0700)
This is better than the previous approach which had a hardcoded Linux-specific
value in the Makefile.

Makefile.local
configure

index 971ddd523f5d9272461ed02531c10cbd0a72d49e..cbc0e077039019e2c8afcde60b829d73942d66b4 100644 (file)
@@ -37,10 +37,8 @@ ifneq ($(LINKER_RESOLVES_LIBRARY_DEPENDENCIES),1)
 FINAL_NOTMUCH_LDFLAGS += $(CONFIGURE_LDFLAGS)
 FINAL_NOTMUCH_LINKER = CXX
 endif
-ifeq ($(PLATFORM),LINUX)
 ifeq ($(LIBDIR_IN_LDCONFIG),0)
-FINAL_NOTMUCH_LDFLAGS += -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-rpath,$(libdir)
-endif
+FINAL_NOTMUCH_LDFLAGS += $(RPATH_LDFLAGS)
 endif
 FINAL_LIBNOTMUCH_LDFLAGS = $(LDFLAGS) $(CONFIGURE_LDFLAGS)
 
index c5bcd07159421f5ba7959fed015d9bc3ed3f3525..6f0bfeac2d290178a373b4f8c7522dabd3477d0f 100755 (executable)
--- a/configure
+++ b/configure
@@ -393,6 +393,15 @@ rm -f compat/have_strcasestr
 
 printf "int main(void){return 0;}\n" > minimal.c
 
+printf "Checking for rpath support... "
+if ${CC} -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-rpath,/tmp/ -o minimal minimal.c >/dev/null 2>&1
+then
+    printf "Yes.\n"
+    rpath_ldflags="-Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-rpath,\$(libdir)"
+else
+    printf "No (nothing to worry about).\n"
+fi
+
 WARN_CXXFLAGS=""
 printf "Checking for available C++ compiler warning flags... "
 for flag in -Wall -Wextra -Wwrite-strings -Wswitch-enum; do
@@ -523,6 +532,9 @@ GMIME_LDFLAGS = ${gmime_ldflags}
 TALLOC_CFLAGS = ${talloc_cflags}
 TALLOC_LDFLAGS = ${talloc_ldflags}
 
+# Flags needed to have linker set rpath attribute
+RPATH_LDFLAGS = ${rpath_ldflags}
+
 # Whether valgrind header files are available
 HAVE_VALGRIND = ${have_valgrind}