emacs: don't start processes stopped
authorSteven Allen <steven@stebalien.com>
Fri, 3 Jan 2020 17:04:00 +0000 (09:04 -0800)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Thu, 9 Jan 2020 01:14:47 +0000 (21:14 -0400)
It causes this function to fail with:

    let: Wrong type argument: null, t

Support for this was removed from Emacs in April
2019 (5c5e309527e6b582e2c04b83e7af45f3144863ac) because it never
worked correctly (apparently).

This also shouldn't be necessary as sentinels will not be called
unless emacs is idle or waiting for input. Therefore, the
`process-put' calls immediately following the `make-process' call
should always complete before the sentinel is first called.

emacs/notmuch-crypto.el

index f4585d5e927bafaa50b5957be6c10bb35c1811e8..4035ee379b9839c35a92a6dcb5f986e303eedecb 100644 (file)
@@ -222,16 +222,11 @@ corresponding key when the status button is pressed."
                                 :buffer buffer
                                 :stderr buffer
                                 :command (list notmuch-crypto-gpg-program "--recv-keys" keyid)
-                                :sentinel #'notmuch-crypto--async-key-sentinel
-                                ;; Create the process stopped so that
-                                ;; we have time to store the key id,
-                                ;; etc. on it.
-                                :stop t)))
+                                :sentinel #'notmuch-crypto--async-key-sentinel)))
            (process-put p :gpg-key-id keyid)
            (process-put p :notmuch-show-buffer (current-buffer))
            (process-put p :notmuch-show-point (point))
-           (message "Getting the GPG key %s asynchronously..." keyid)
-           (continue-process p)))
+           (message "Getting the GPG key %s asynchronously..." keyid)))
 
       (let ((window (display-buffer buffer)))
        (with-selected-window window