TODO: Add some new items about improving the test suite.
authorCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Thu, 11 Mar 2010 18:35:05 +0000 (10:35 -0800)
committerCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Wed, 31 Mar 2010 20:31:10 +0000 (13:31 -0700)
I just tried (and failed) to write a test for the recent magic
inference of phrase searches. That's a feature that makes me *really*
uncomfortable to not have an automated test. But I believe the
proposed modularization of the test suite should reduce some quoting
nightmares, so will hopefully make this easier.

TODO

diff --git a/TODO b/TODO
index 266064ae88ba48196f36e560576ca2cc9c498084..98a17be4020bfdcb51fd2e2f4762acceab582026 100644 (file)
--- a/TODO
+++ b/TODO
@@ -174,11 +174,21 @@ notmuch searches. Here was one proposal made in IRC:
 Provide a ~me Xapian synonym for all of the user's configured email
 addresses.
 
 Provide a ~me Xapian synonym for all of the user's configured email
 addresses.
 
+Test suite
+----------
+Achieve 100% test coverage with the test suite.
+
+Modularize test suite (to be able to run individual tests).
+
+Summarize test results at the end.
+
+Fix the insane quoting nightmare of the test suite, (and once we do
+that we can actually test the implicit-phrase search feature such as
+"notmuch search 'body search (phrase)'"
+
 General
 -------
 Audit everything for dealing with out-of-memory (and drop xutil.c).
 
 General
 -------
 Audit everything for dealing with out-of-memory (and drop xutil.c).
 
-Achieve 100% test coverage with the test suite.
-
 Investigate why the notmuch database is slightly larger than the sup
 database for the same corpus of email.
 Investigate why the notmuch database is slightly larger than the sup
 database for the same corpus of email.