man: show: update man page for entire-thread and json.
authorMark Walters <markwalters1009@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 18:57:57 +0000 (19:57 +0100)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 11:14:48 +0000 (08:14 -0300)
Previously in notmuch show --format=json implied --entire-thread. This
is still the default but it is now possible to disable this. Update
the manpage to reflect this.

man/man1/notmuch-show.1

index 506583a6c6ebccb833d84d7e3d7569e7d29a5bdf..765b22c630c0c939f2e3c9fa2375ac16820a4660 100644 (file)
@@ -24,11 +24,14 @@ Supported options for
 include
 .RS 4
 .TP 4
-.B \-\-entire\-thread
+.B \-\-entire\-thread=(true|false)
 
-By default only those messages that match the search terms will be
-displayed. With this option, all messages in the same thread as any
-matched message will be displayed.
+If true,
+.B notmuch show
+outputs all messages in the thread of any message matching the search
+terms; if false, it outputs only the matching messages. For
+.B --format=json
+this defaults to true.  For other formats, this defaults to false.
 .RE
 
 .RS 4
@@ -55,11 +58,13 @@ be nested.
 The output is formatted with Javascript Object Notation (JSON). This
 format is more robust than the text format for automated
 processing. The nested structure of multipart MIME messages is
-reflected in nested JSON output. JSON output always includes all
-messages in a matching thread; in effect
+reflected in nested JSON output. By default JSON output includes all
+messages in a matching thread; that is, by default,
 .B \-\-format=json
-implies
-.B \-\-entire\-thread
+sets
+.B "\-\-entire\-thread"
+The caller can disable this behaviour by setting
+.B \-\-entire\-thread=false
 
 .RE
 .RS 4