test: add test for syntax of emacs test library
authorDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sun, 12 Jan 2014 00:10:21 +0000 (20:10 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Mon, 13 Jan 2014 18:31:15 +0000 (14:31 -0400)
If there is a syntax error in the emacs test library, it causes other
tests to hang or crash without a useful error message.

This test could be eliminated if the error reporting for emacs tests
was somehow improved.

test/T310-emacs.sh

index 863219d9f9e973395e66a8507eeac6b5e044a9c9..7dc9a8e084ceb2fff8408bea373d4f23f8cb9ae7 100755 (executable)
@@ -7,6 +7,10 @@ EXPECTED=$TEST_DIRECTORY/emacs.expected-output
 
 add_email_corpus
 
 
 add_email_corpus
 
+# syntax errors in test-lib.el cause mysterious failures
+test_expect_success 'Syntax of emacs test library' \
+    "${TEST_EMACS} -Q --batch --load $TEST_DIRECTORY/test-lib.el"
+
 test_begin_subtest "Basic notmuch-hello view in emacs"
 test_emacs '(notmuch-hello)
            (test-output)'
 test_begin_subtest "Basic notmuch-hello view in emacs"
 test_emacs '(notmuch-hello)
            (test-output)'