util: after gzgets(), Z_STREAM_END means EOF, not error
authorOlivier Taïbi <oli@olitb.net>
Tue, 14 Apr 2020 17:38:40 +0000 (19:38 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Thu, 16 Apr 2020 10:55:23 +0000 (07:55 -0300)
Context: I am compiling notmuch on OpenBSD which has a rather old zlib
1.2.3.  It seems that the behaviour of gzgets() changed slightly between
this version and more recent versions, but the manual does not reflect
that change.  Note that zlib's manual:
- does not specify which error code (Z_OK or Z_STREAM_END) is set when
  EOF is reached,
- does not indicate the meaning of Z_STREAM_END after gzgets(), but
  based on its meaning as a possible return value of inflate(), I would
  guess that it means EOF.

amended by db: tidy commit message

util/zlib-extra.c

index 623f6d62d1e4fc13331e9c5a56d8b005287df0bd..2d2d24145ad1bb97d31c5ff6a3e6b117f8bb31ee 100644 (file)
@@ -47,6 +47,7 @@ gz_getline (void *talloc_ctx, char **bufptr, ssize_t *bytes_read, gzFile stream)
            int zlib_status = 0;
            (void) gzerror (stream, &zlib_status);
            switch (zlib_status) {
+           case Z_STREAM_END:
            case Z_OK:
                /* no data read before EOF */
                if (offset == 0)