INSTALL: Note the advantages of Xapian 1.0.18+ and 1.1.4+
authorCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Tue, 1 Jun 2010 17:42:43 +0000 (10:42 -0700)
committerCarl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
Tue, 1 Jun 2010 17:51:42 +0000 (10:51 -0700)
These versions provide greatly desired performance advantages for
notmuch.

Previously, theses details existed in an old NEWS entry, but most
users are unlikely to find those details there. Put them here where we
mention the Xapian dependency.

INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index bc7bc6778276490279dced12e32c0b39421695e5..9cf328eea3186910ad9dd5cbbc44893325d46b74 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -42,10 +42,12 @@ which are each described below:
 
        Xapian is available from http://xapian.org
 
-       After installing Xapian, please ensure that you have a command
-       named "xapian-config" on your $PATH as notmuch expects. (At
-       least one notmuch user found that Xapian installed the config
-       program to /usr/local/bin/xapian-config-1.1 ).
+       Note: Notmuch will work best with Xapian 1.0.18 (or later) or
+       Xapian 1.1.4 (or later). Previous versions of Xapian (whether
+       1.0 or 1.1) had a performance bug that made notmuch very slow
+       when modifying tags. This would cause distracting pauses when
+       reading mail while notmuch would wait for Xapian when removing
+       the "inbox" and "unread" tags from messages in a thread.
 
        GMime 2.4
        ---------