emacs: drop use of message-default-charset
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Mon, 22 Apr 2019 20:51:16 +0000 (16:51 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Tue, 7 May 2019 09:35:44 +0000 (06:35 -0300)
Apparently, message-default-charset is deprecated, which causes the
following warning messages during the build:

  In notmuch-maildir-setup-message-for-saving:
  emacs/notmuch-maildir-fcc.el:172:31:Warning: â€˜message-default-charset’ is an
      obsolete variable (as of 26.1); The default charset comes from the
      language environment

In discussion with emacs upstream over on
https://debbugs.gnu.org/35370, it appears that we can just drop this
entirely and things should still work with emacs 25.

emacs/notmuch-maildir-fcc.el

index 1551e8b649102ccdfecad9a2ef278949bfb3d702..ae56bacd50b549b395bf6c39460728b294fa6bf3 100644 (file)
@@ -169,8 +169,7 @@ This is taken from the function message-do-fcc."
   (message-encode-message-body)
   (save-restriction
     (message-narrow-to-headers)
-    (let ((mail-parse-charset message-default-charset))
-      (mail-encode-encoded-word-buffer)))
+    (mail-encode-encoded-word-buffer))
   (goto-char (point-min))
   (when (re-search-forward
         (concat "^" (regexp-quote mail-header-separator) "$")