NEWS: Document the notmuch_database_close split
authorJustus Winter <4winter@informatik.uni-hamburg.de>
Sun, 22 Apr 2012 12:07:52 +0000 (14:07 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Sat, 28 Apr 2012 12:26:25 +0000 (09:26 -0300)
Signed-off-by: Justus Winter <4winter@informatik.uni-hamburg.de>
NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index c1704e03ca24bbf307c61f279f0357b8d4e2c385..a2cd08076368529458639ac4d6b20b4bfcb2c3d2 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -73,6 +73,18 @@ leaving Mutt.  notmuch-mutt, formerly distributed under the name
 "mutt-notmuch" by Stefano Zacchiroli, will be maintained as a notmuch
 contrib/ from now on.
 
+Library changes
+---------------
+
+API changes
+
+  The function notmuch_database_close has been split into
+  notmuch_database_close and notmuch_database_destroy.
+
+  This makes it possible for long running programs to close the xapian
+  database and thus release the lock associated with it without
+  destroying the data structures obtained from it.
+
 Notmuch 0.12 (2012-03-20)
 =========================