release: use xz compression
authorDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Tue, 19 Mar 2019 10:08:19 +0000 (07:08 -0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Wed, 27 Mar 2019 20:59:40 +0000 (17:59 -0300)
This produces tarballs that are roughly 30% smaller.

Makefile.global
Makefile.local

index b54ba9dd0bcc53b69ac5e92bfe5f865e85fb681a..0aee5876532bf84a5d4495a1046e884d1686602e 100644 (file)
@@ -40,9 +40,9 @@ DEB_TAG=debian/$(UPSTREAM_TAG)-1
 RELEASE_HOST=notmuchmail.org
 RELEASE_DIR=/srv/notmuchmail.org/www/releases
 RELEASE_URL=https://notmuchmail.org/releases
-TAR_FILE=$(PACKAGE)-$(VERSION).tar.gz
+TAR_FILE=$(PACKAGE)-$(VERSION).tar.xz
 ELPA_FILE:=$(PACKAGE)-emacs-$(ELPA_VERSION).tar
-DEB_TAR_FILE=$(PACKAGE)_$(VERSION).orig.tar.gz
+DEB_TAR_FILE=$(PACKAGE)_$(VERSION).orig.tar.xz
 SHA256_FILE=$(TAR_FILE).sha256.asc
 DETACHED_SIG_FILE=$(TAR_FILE).asc
 
index 383e0cbabc8bb4b5895ef9f05238351c6c9139ca..3c6dacbccc4b3af1e43d89fcf8e69dd23997aed0 100644 (file)
@@ -36,7 +36,7 @@ $(TAR_FILE):
                --transform s_^_$(PACKAGE)-$(VERSION)/_  \
                --transform 's_.tmp$$__' --mtime=@$$ct version.tmp
        rm version.tmp
-       gzip -n < $(TAR_FILE).tmp > $(TAR_FILE)
+       xz -C sha256 -9 < $(TAR_FILE).tmp > $(TAR_FILE)
        @echo "Source is ready for release in $(TAR_FILE)"
 
 $(SHA256_FILE): $(TAR_FILE)