NEWS: give a hint about using sort to achieve the old dump behavior.
authorDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Wed, 4 Jan 2012 03:19:05 +0000 (23:19 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Thu, 5 Jan 2012 21:52:50 +0000 (17:52 -0400)
This is needed for a few applications, and actually is quite
fast (relative to the actual dump).

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 2bf739d224691e2e89f540237710cccc0a2c05bc..6b3f37adcb7fb1297f569fa52048a21bfdef563d 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -23,7 +23,8 @@ Automatic tag query optimization
 Don't sort messages when creating a dump file
 
   This speeds up tag dumps considerably, without any loss of
 Don't sort messages when creating a dump file
 
   This speeds up tag dumps considerably, without any loss of
-  information.
+  information. To replicate the old behavior of sorted output (for
+  example to compare two dump files), one can use e.g. sort(1).
 
 Memory Management
 -----------------
 
 Memory Management
 -----------------