STYLE: document some rules about variable declarations
authorDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 13 Feb 2016 17:11:18 +0000 (13:11 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sat, 5 Mar 2016 00:44:57 +0000 (20:44 -0400)
No-one seemed opposed to C99 style loop variable declarations. The
requirement to declare variables at the top of blocks is maybe a little
more contested, but I believe it reflects the status quo.

devel/STYLE

index 24bd548..b22d8d3 100644 (file)
@@ -25,9 +25,7 @@ The following nonsense code demonstrates many aspects of the style:
 static some_type
 function (param_type param, param_type param)
 {
-   int i;
-
-   for (i = 0; i < 10; i++) {
+   for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++) {
        int j;
 
        j = i + 10;
@@ -64,6 +62,9 @@ function (param_type param, param_type param)
 * Code lines should be less than 80 columns and comments should be
   wrapped at 70 columns.
 
+* Variable declarations should be at the top of a block; C99 style
+  control variable declarations in for loops are also OK.
+
 Naming
 ------