emacs: Extend face to window edge again
authorJonas Bernoulli <jonas@bernoul.li>
Sat, 8 Aug 2020 11:49:45 +0000 (13:49 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sun, 9 Aug 2020 23:53:46 +0000 (20:53 -0300)
Since Emacs 27 each face has to be explicitly configured to "extend
to the edge of the window".  Without doing that the face used for
the newline character only has an effect that spans "one character"
(i.e. it looks like there is a single trailing space character).

We don't want that so extend the face in Emacs 27, so that it looks
the same as it did in older Emacs releases.  We have to do this
conditionally, otherwise older Emacsen would choke on it.

emacs/notmuch.el

index 4fc338e2a3358a718a4b427962b371d615380676..5562ad104ff3bef84a2f312aade85b30d46fb00e 100644 (file)
@@ -273,8 +273,12 @@ there will be called at other points of notmuch execution."
   (goto-char (point-min)))
 
 (defface notmuch-message-summary-face
-  '((((class color) (background light)) (:background "#f0f0f0"))
-    (((class color) (background dark)) (:background "#303030")))
+  `((((class color) (background light))
+     ,@(and (>= emacs-major-version 27) '(:extend t))
+     (:background "#f0f0f0"))
+    (((class color) (background dark))
+     ,@(and (>= emacs-major-version 27) '(:extend t))
+     (:background "#303030")))
   "Face for the single-line message summary in notmuch-show-mode."
   :group 'notmuch-show
   :group 'notmuch-faces)