TODO: update entry on date range queries
authorJani Nikula <jani@nikula.org>
Tue, 22 Jan 2013 18:19:25 +0000 (20:19 +0200)
committerDavid Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
Thu, 24 Jan 2013 11:32:16 +0000 (07:32 -0400)
devel/TODO

index e31805efc3756c491ece4dfc00fc6489f698d9d3..e4f36c2cb8530fc0621b48fe9d05147432aae293 100644 (file)
@@ -146,12 +146,13 @@ vs. tag-when-all-files-flagged (* above)).
 Add an interface to accept a "key" and a byte stream, rather than a
 filename.
 
 Add an interface to accept a "key" and a byte stream, rather than a
 filename.
 
-Provide a sane syntax for date ranges. First, we don't want to require
-both endpoints to be specified. For example it would be nice to be
-able to say things like "since:2009-01-1" or "until:2009-01-1" and
-have the other endpoint be implicit. Second we'd like to support
-relative specifications of time such as "since:'2 months ago'". To do
-any of this we're probably going to need to break down an write our
+Improve syntax for date ranges queries. date:expr should be
+interpreted as date:expr..expr so that, for example, "date:2013-01-22"
+would cover the whole of the specified day (currently that's not even
+recognized as a date range expression). It might be nice to be able to
+use things like "since:2013-01-22" and "until:2013-01-22" as synonyms
+to "date:2013-01-22.." and "date:..2013-01-22", respectively. To do
+any of this we're probably going to need to break down and write our
 own parser for the query string rather than using Xapian's QueryParser
 class.
 
 own parser for the query string rather than using Xapian's QueryParser
 class.