emacs/tree: add notmuch-tree-goto-matching-message
authorWilliam Casarin <jb55@jb55.com>
Sat, 4 Apr 2020 20:41:32 +0000 (13:41 -0700)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Mon, 6 Apr 2020 10:14:42 +0000 (07:14 -0300)
This function captures some common logic when jumping to matching
messages in notmuch-tree mode.

We also add a new return value (t or nil), that indicates if there was
a next matching message in the thread to show.

Signed-off-by: William Casarin <jb55@jb55.com>
emacs/notmuch-tree.el

index 1bcf6cf9b176023c7436fd74a30310f68b0aeae2..7f68efbad14cac70b5a73ae25638233f6854c65a 100644 (file)
@@ -631,12 +631,23 @@ message will be \"unarchived\", i.e. the tag changes in
   (when (window-live-p notmuch-tree-message-window)
     (notmuch-tree-show-message-in)))
 
+(defun notmuch-tree-goto-matching-message (&optional prev)
+  "Move to the next or previous matching message.
+
+Returns t if there was a next matching message in the thread to show,
+nil otherwise."
+  (let ((dir (if prev -1 nil))
+       (eobfn (if prev #'bobp #'eobp)))
+    (while (and (not (funcall eobfn))
+               (not (notmuch-tree-get-match)))
+      (forward-line dir))
+    (not (funcall eobfn))))
+
 (defun notmuch-tree-prev-matching-message ()
   "Move to previous matching message."
   (interactive)
   (forward-line -1)
-  (while (and (not (bobp)) (not (notmuch-tree-get-match)))
-    (forward-line -1))
+  (notmuch-tree-goto-matching-message t)
   (when (window-live-p notmuch-tree-message-window)
     (notmuch-tree-show-message-in)))
 
@@ -644,8 +655,7 @@ message will be \"unarchived\", i.e. the tag changes in
   "Move to next matching message."
   (interactive)
   (forward-line)
-  (while (and (not (eobp)) (not (notmuch-tree-get-match)))
-    (forward-line))
+  (notmuch-tree-goto-matching-message)
   (when (window-live-p notmuch-tree-message-window)
     (notmuch-tree-show-message-in)))