doc: update install suggestions for fedora derivatives
authorDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Fri, 26 Jun 2020 11:11:00 +0000 (08:11 -0300)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Fri, 3 Jul 2020 09:31:54 +0000 (06:31 -0300)
Fedora still has an old gmime-devel which is 2.6.x. This is no longer
supported by notmuch. Also apparently dnf is a better choice than yum.

INSTALL
configure

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index f1236e713e11085b626f79c5b22c89719cdd6b6d..40ea377af97d6b72325016044a8db37433671d3e 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -95,7 +95,7 @@ dependencies with a single simple command line. For example:
 
   For Fedora and similar:
 
-       sudo yum install xapian-core-devel gmime-devel libtalloc-devel zlib-devel python3-sphinx texinfo info
+       sudo dnf install xapian-core-devel gmime30-devel libtalloc-devel zlib-devel python3-sphinx texinfo info
 
 On other systems, a similar command can be used, but the details of
 the package names may be different.
index 2caa08c85e657d24a253a02398d4532d601a81b9..80cbac4f8b19c1c3dbdcd098b2b013923ec62677 100755 (executable)
--- a/configure
+++ b/configure
@@ -1028,7 +1028,7 @@ On Debian and similar systems:
 
 Or on Fedora and similar systems:
 
-       sudo yum install xapian-core-devel gmime-devel libtalloc-devel zlib-devel
+       sudo dnf install xapian-core-devel gmime30-devel libtalloc-devel zlib-devel
 
 On other systems, similar commands can be used, but the details of the
 package names may be different.
@@ -1043,7 +1043,7 @@ to install pkg-config with a command such as:
 
        sudo apt-get install pkg-config
 Or:
-       sudo yum install pkgconfig
+       sudo dnf install pkgconfig
 
 But if pkg-config is not available for your system, then you will need
 to modify the configure script to manually set the cflags and ldflags