NEWS: cleartext indexing
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Sun, 22 Oct 2017 15:36:34 +0000 (11:36 -0400)
committerDavid Bremner <david@tethera.net>
Sun, 22 Oct 2017 17:02:00 +0000 (14:02 -0300)
give a short summary of cleartext indexing of encrypted e-mail
messages.

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index c2ebb6447bd09f0c24ed1b93a19237ed9effc795..895b76273313adf53e59287a2a8f3e2f554fedbe 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -11,6 +11,24 @@ Out-of-tree builds
   has been dropped. The same can now be achieved more reliably using
   out-of-tree builds.
 
+Encrypted Mail
+--------------
+
+Indexing cleartext of encrypted e-mails
+
+  It's now possible to include the cleartext of encrypted e-mails in
+  the notmuch index.  This makes it possible to search your encrypted
+  e-mails with the same ease as searching cleartext.  This can be done
+  on a per-message basis with the --try-decrypt argument to indexing
+  commands (new, insert, reindex), or by default by running "notmuch
+  config set index.try_decrypt true".
+
+  Note that the contents of the index are sufficient to roughly
+  reconstruct the cleartext of the message itself, so please ensure
+  that the notmuch index itself is adequately protected.  DO NOT USE
+  this feature without considering the security of your index.
+
+
 Notmuch 0.25.1 (2017-09-11)
 ===========================